Why it’s time Bouchard let her tennis do the talking…

It seems so long ago now but in 2014 Eugenie Bouchard was the next big thing on the tour now the Canadian is struggling for a win and it’s been like that for quite some time. Eugenie turned 23 last year and is in risk of falling out of the top 50 in the world when she was so close to top 10 but now it’s time her tennis did the talking.

I think Bouchard has potential to be a very good player but right now I can’t think of the last time I watched a match of hers and thought “that was epic”.

I use the phrase it’s about time her tennis did the talking because all I have heard about all year is her off court activities and to be honest I find it boring.

There is nothing wrong with off court activities but it’s all we hear about and I think it’s one of those things that people care less about when you are actually performing.

I was keeping an eye on her match against Alja Tomljanovic in Acapulco, saw she went up a break and by the way this was Alja’s first match in about 12 months and lost 6-7 1-6… losing to a player playing their first match in over a year is not good!

Some may read this and think I’m having a dig but I’m not. We all have opinions and my point is we should be talking about her tennis. I loaded BBC Sport the other week and the top piece was about her going on a date with a fan. I’m pretty sure in all honesty that not many care about it, she has a huge following of fans but surely they have become frustrated with the lack of winning over the last 12 months and more.

I want to see her doing well on the court, it looks a little lost and when the majority of the headlines aren’t about tennis then it’s a problem.  

Leave a Reply

