33 years since Yannick Noah won Roland Garros, who will be the next French male Grand Slam winner?

France have never been short of great tennis players. They have at least 9 players inside the top 100 on the ATP Singles Tour however they all have something in common, not one of them has won a Grand Slam singles title and time is running out for some of them!

On the other hand there has been success for the French women with Amelie Mauresmo, Mary Pierce and more recently Marion Bartoli have all won a Grand Slam since the turn of the Millennium.

2016 marks 33 years since the last Frenchman won a Grand Slam title and that was Yannick Noah back in 1983 at Roland Garros and with some of their top players getting on a bit now will they find Grand Slam success and when will France get their next male Grand Slam champion?

Out of all the French players on the tour the one who has gone closest to winning a major was Jo-Wilfried Tsonga a very long time ago in 2008 but ran into Novak Djokovic who picked up his first major title and now has 11! Also during that year Gael Monfils made the semi-finals of the French Open but hasn’t been back to that stage of a major since despite some quarter final appearances.

Who knows when France will get their next single male major champion?



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s