Tomas Berdych and Dani Vallverdu split!

Tomas Berdych today announced that he has ended his coaching partnership with Dani Vallverdu a former coach of Andy Murray.

The Czech number one was well humiliated last week in Rome as he lost 6-0 6-0 to David Goffin in what was the first match the former Wimbledon had ever lost by that scoreline.

It was announced on Tomas Facebook where he said:

β€œMy results lately have not been what I expected. As I am not a tennis player at the beginning of his career I have to act quickly when I feel that I need a change”

Well as statements go this is to the point.

I’ve watched quite a bit of Berdych this year and I word I would use is frustrating. I come away from the match scratching my head at times.

Looking back at previous pieces I have written I wrote about the missed opportunity from Berdych in his defeat to Nick Kyrgios in Dubai back at the end of Februray.

Missed opportunity for Berdych as Kyrgios moves into the semi-finals!Β 

Berdych once made the final of Wimbledon back in 2010 and hasn’t won a Masters 1000 title since 2005 and I can’t see him reaching another final or winning another Masters title at the moment, I believe the top few are incredibly tough to beat and right now the likes of Thiem, Goffin and Kyrgios are those making their move up the rankings and improving a lot.

Tomas is on his way to Roland Garros. I’d be surprised if he had a new coach by the beginning of June. He’s now at an important stage in his career to maybe have another shot at winning a big title!

 

Leave a Reply

