Great Britain & Australia Announce Davis Cup Teams

In just over a weeks time Great Britain and Australia will face off in a Davis Cup semi-final in Glasgow and the teams have been announced for the tie.

Great Britain

Andy Murray, Kyle Edmund, Jamie Murray, Dom Inglot and James Ward


Bernard Tomic, Thanasi Kokkinakis, Lleyton Hewitt and Sam Groth

Only four players can represent each team over the weekend so one players has to be dropped from the British Davis Cup team. It obviously won’t be Andy and probably not Jamie or Dom with both playing very in doubles lately with Dom linking up with Robert Lindstedt over the last few tournaments. So it probably be either Kyle of James. Kyle has been playing well and has broke into the top 100 recently but has no Davis Cup experience however James has Davis Cup experience having beaten some top players in the past but has lost his last 9 matches on the tour including his last match losing to a player ranked outside the top 400 in the world. So who will be dropped?

One player who has been dropped is Nick Kyrgios. The Australian teenager has been in the headlines for all the wrong reasons and it is a chance to take him out of the spot light a bit. Bernard Tomic who did have some problems as well in recent months has been recalled to the side which also has Thanasi Kokkinakis as well as Hewitt and Groth who saved the tie for Australia in Darwin against Kazakhstan.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s